The College of New Jersey

Apply     Visit     Give     |     Alumni     Parents     Offices     TCNJ Today     

Sigma Iota Rho Honor Society

Honor Society for International Studies

The purpose of Sigma Iota Rho shall be to promote and reward scholarship and service among students and practitioners of international studies, international affairs, and global studies and to foster integrity and creative performance in the conduct of world affairs.

Membership in Sigma Iota Rho is intended not only to enhance the credentials of its members, though public recognition of the best and the brightest students in international studies is one of the main purposes, but is meant to encourage a life-long devotion to a better understanding of the world we live in and to continuing support for and engagement in education, service, and occupational activities that reflect the mission of Sigma Iota Rho. The College of New Jersey’s Sigma Iota Rho faculty adviser is Dr. Matthew Bender, who can be reached at

Undergraduate members are the driving force behind the success of the chapter.  It is their energy and commitment combined with the experience of the faculty advisor that help fulfill the mission of Sigma Iota Rho.  In order to qualify for undergraduate membership, students must meet the following criteria:

  • Completed course work in international studies including courses in relevant subject areas of anthropology, economics, foreign languages, geography, history, political science, and other related disciplines;

  • Attained a junior standing and completed at least twenty-one (21) hours of course work toward the International Relations major or minor, including at least two courses at the 300 or 400 levels;

  • Attained a cumulative grade point average of 3.3 or higher in all courses, and a grade point average of at least 3.4 in international relations courses;

  • Must maintain full-time student status of at least twelve (12) hours to be a voting member or hold an office.


Sigma Iota Rho members inducted upon November 19, 2019

Klara Bieniasz
Amanda Dallenbach
Victoria Faria
Martha Sofia Fuentes Lucio
Victoria Hyland
Emily Lo
Madison Mastellone
Lauren McNulty
Tara O’Keefe
Juliana Rice
Kameryn Richardson
Henry Seifert
Caleb Septoff
Franklin Shobe
Klaudia Stanislawski
Alessandra Thomas